A simple, or maybe not very simple, request

Brand name believed to be KALIBR.
Trivistor

A simple, or maybe not very simple, request

Post by Trivistor »

Hello everybody, I have been owning an L3-3 for some time now. It's a late 1986 production, bought brand new in its wooden crate and in excellent shape. I am not an engineer, nor have a technical background, I am just an ordinary audiophile from Italy who is very much into tube amplification and music reproduction. I understand the basic logic of tubes circuits and testing, I have 2 others Hickok testers, but the L3-3 it's really a fascinating instrument and would like to have a better understanding of its functions.

I have been studying the different manuals supplied on the DIY board (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-va ... ester.html), both German an English versions. I have a very basic understanding of German but I am fluent in English (and French and Spanish, but this has to do with my profession), and yet, while I have been able to complete the basic calibration and testing procedures, I have the feeling there are many points I am missing, and the different translations of the original Russian manual never go down to the simple yet clarifying details I would need to know. Unfortunately, all the English translations I found (thanks to the authors, of course!), including that on the jacmusic.com website, are somehow obscure, cryptic, aimed to technicians, not common users. Calibration procedures differs so much that in one case we have to take apart the tester and use up to 3 different multi-meters and oscillators, in another simply measuring a point would get the same result. A more consistent approach would be much more useful.